1. Default San Francisco to Las Vegas in 2 days (ideas please!)

This is my first time is this forum, and I was looking for some ideas. I am planning to drive from San Francisco to Las Vegas. My plan is to sleep somewhere in the middle the first day and arrive in Las Vegas the second day early in the afternoon. I am sleeping in Las Vegas that night and coming back to SF the next day.

What do you recommend me to do the first day and the 3rd day on the way back? I have two main options: trip through Highway 1 or some trip to Yosemite or Sequoia. I would appreciate a lot concrete suggestions or any other ideas.

Thanks!

Default It's Always Nice to Have Options

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

You're not leaving yourself a lot of time for this trip as it is normally a full day's drive by the most efficient route (through Bakersfield using I-5/CA-58/I-15) between San Francisco and Las Vegas. Still you might be able to squeeze in a scenic drive in a day and a half as long as you keep it pretty direct. For that reason, and because Big Sur is both closer to San Francisco and out of the way for a drive to Las Vegas, I'd suggest that you go through Yosemite, over Tioga Pass, south on US-395 and then through Death Valley on CA-190 on your way to Las Vegas. You could overnight around Independence, Lone Pine, or even in Death Valley itself and still have time to get to Las Vegas by the next afternoon. But with only a day to get back to San Francisco, you'll pretty much have to stick to the Bakersfield route.

AZBuck

3. Default

That sounds very good. Actually, the day before heading to Vegas, I plan to do Highway 1 from Monterey to Bahia Tiburon, so the coastal scenic trip is kind of well covered already.

So, if I were to sleep in Death Valley, which are the essential places to visit along that route you suggested?

Thank you!
    Last edited by Mark Sedenquist; 08-19-2009 at 01:34 PM. Reason: in-line navigation, so block quote not really needed here