Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default LA-GrandCanyon-Vegas-DeathValley-Yosemite (September 2009) - Comments welcomed!

Hello everyone! Newbie here - first time on this forum, and first time on a roadtrip!

I have been scouring the forum and have found it to be a wealth of information and have used it to plan my itinerary thus far. Thank you all so much for keeping this going.

We are aiming to do a round trip from LA, through the National Parks to SF and back down the coast to LA. The leg along the coast is pretty straightforward, so I will just need tips and hints on the leg through the parks. I am not a fan of very long drives, so I have limited the driving time to about 3-4 hours per stretch.

We will be in a campervan, so will be camping along the way. Although we are pretty flexible with the timing, we have already booked the camp spots in Yosemite, so we will need to get there by that time.

Here is our itinerary thus far, along with some questions and I would really appreciate if you could help me out with some comments, hints and suggestions. All are welcome.

14th - Palm Springs - Joshua Tree - 29 Palms - overnight 29 Palms (Q: Do we need the whole day for this or are we better off moving on and overnighting somewhere else?)

15th - 29 Palms - Lake Havasu City - Grand Canyon - overnight 3 nights (Q: Can anyone tell me the difference between the North Rim and the South Rim, which would you recommend, and might it be an idea to visit both since we have 3 nights?)

18th - Grand Canyon - Page/Lake Powell - overnight Page

19th - Page - Bryce Canyon - overnight Bryce Canyon

20th - Bryce Canyon - drive thru Zion N.P. - drive thru Valley of Fire - Las Vegas (Q: Are we trying to do too much here? What is there to see in Zion and Valley of Fire, and is it worth spending more time here?)

21st-23rd - Las Vegas

24th - Las Vegas - Death Valley (overnight)