1. Default Binghamton(NY) to Seattle(WA)

Hello everyone, I'm a college student from Binghamton
    trying to drive all the way to Seattle.

It's not exactly a trip since I'm stopping only to get a sleep.
    This will be a constant driving across the country to get to my college in Seattle...

This is my first time on a road trip so I did my own research but would love to
    get some help and tips from you experts.

So here are some questions that I have and would be grateful for any helpful tips..

1) I leave on the 11th and would like to get to Seattle by the 16th. Is this possible? I don't mind driving for long hours.

2) Safety is a very big issue for me. If I had to stop for rest, I would like to avoid any cities that are known to have high crim rates. For now, I'm thinking Binghamton -> Chicago -> Denver -> Salt Lake City -> Seattle. I know it may sound very funny and noob-like..but I thought staying in the big city would be safer than any unknown small towns. Is there any other route that you guys can suggest that are safer? Please. Oh and also, would staying in hotels be better than motels for safety?

3) My car is Honda Civic 2008. Do I need to change any tires or have its whole body checked up for this trip?

Well...that's all I can think of now...
    Again, I am new to having this type of roadtrip.
    I will be going with my girlfriend but I will be the only driver.
    If there is any other things that you guys can tell me, please do so.
    Thank you very much.

Green County, Wisconsin

Default change your thinking

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

You've got several things going on here, but they all kind of run together.

First, saying safety is very important, and then talking about not worrying about driving long hours is quite a contradiction. On a trip like this, the amount of driving itself and your ability to keep focused on the task at hand (driving a 2 ton machine at 70 mph) is in and of itself your biggest safety issue.