1. Default Road trip first timer. Need some advice

Well it seems I've caught some bug. A few days back it suddenly hit me that in two days, my summer class will be over, and I have till August 28 until my final semester of college begins(thank you, thank you *bows*.) Oh, and I don't have a job either. So I've decided to take a road trip.

I live in middle Tennessee, around the Nashville area. I've seen a lot of the east coast and have done the Florida thing a few times. Not to say that stuff is bad, but I'm somewhat set on Grand Canyon/Yellowstone/Teton parks. I'm wondering what some of the more experienced road trippers thoughts are on doing some kind of loop from TN, to the grand canyon, then yellowstone and teton.

I'm pretty new at this. I've drove before, but never like 8+ hours more than a couple days at a time. I'm not worried about the drive though - I'm just wondering what to expect.

Also, I'd like to keep it cheap. I'm not really sure what to expect in terms of actually going to these places. What do you actually *do* when you get there, and what does it cost to do it?

I don't really care too much about eating in really fancy places, and don't care much at all about the lodging. Hell, I'd sleep in my car if it wasn't a toyota corolla. I'm content with a sandwich and beer every dinner (and lunch for that matter).

So, I guess my main concerns are - and sorry for bombarding the questions, but, with so much stuff online I think it actually makes it *harder* to research the specific questions you want answered - A) any good "loop" ideas? And if you guys know some sweet spots on the way or back, I'm all down. Those three places are just the most well known to me. B) What would you suggest I actually do at these places, besides just driving through the park or going to the canyon? C) Any ballpark about the kinda price I'm looking at if I'm going alone? (May bring a friend or two but not sure yet.)