1. Default Noob: Planning a last minute, 8 day western road trip ending in Vegas.

I'm a longtime NYC resident looking to get out into the West and see what's what.

I want to fly out somewhere, rent an SUV or truck and spend about 5-6 days taking my time, exploring, checking out the local greasy spoons and honky tonks and local bars, with at least one good nature-related sort of thing to see.

Finally I want to wind up in Vegas to play cards for a day or two before flying home to the Big Apple. That seems to make sense for me.

I'm not a camper but some easy hiking is a possibility. I just want to enjoy myself, take my journal, my camera and my guitar and get away from it all for a week.

Obviously, I am a complete noob.

Flying into Albuquerque and doing the Route 66 thing seems like a possibility, but I would love to hear some suggestions.

Anyway, nice forum you folks have here. I've be searching the archives with vigor.

Thanks guys.

Green County, Wisconsin

Default whats out there

Welcome to the RTA forum!

Certainly Albuquerque could be a good place to start if you want to drive for a handful of days and end up in Las Vegas. So other good places might be Phoenix or Tucson, Salt Lake City, or even Denver might be on the far edge.

While I certainly encourage you to get out an see what the locals do, I wouldn't go in assuming that everyone drives a pickup and goes to country bars. I also really wouldn't recommend renting an SUV unless you've got some strong desire to drive one. You can't go off-road or anywhere a regular car can't go when you are in a rental SUV or truck, so you usually just end up paying a lot more without much benefit.

Tucson, AZ

Default Myth and Reality

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!