1. Default Houston to Key West to Nashville and Back!

I'm new to the forums and just wanted some opinions on a road trip I am planning in late August first week of September.
    As of now, I have 11 days, and I plan to start in Houston and do a massive loop going through New Orleans, then to Key West, back through the east coast of Florida, then through Atlanta, Nashville, Memphis, then back to Houston! I have a friend in Lakeland, FL, so that is really the only designated spot I am wanting to go.

I already have it mapped out on Google where I would like to go, which routes, and where I plan to lay my head. Take a look :),14.128418&z=6

Just curious on everybody's thoughts, if i'm missing anything, or if there is a better route to go. It is my first time in the Southern States, I will be travelling alone, and I'm a 25 year old male. I'll also be renting a car in Houston, I'm leaning towards paying the extra money for a convertible, is that a bad idea, not only from a safety perspective, but just generally bad in this part of the world during the late summer?

I also have two travel points in which i'm not 100% confident on.

Houston to New Orleans. I am finished my work obligations in Houston at 2pm Thursday, should I drive a few hours that afternoon, and if so, where should I stay that would be halfway between Houston and New Orleans?

Secondly, I am in Memphis on Saturday night and my flight is out of Houston Monday evening. I have no particular reason to go to Dallas; where would you recommend I lay my head Sunday night before travelling back to Houston?

Thanks for taking the time, and let me know your thoughts as I'm excitedly planning this trip already.

Green County, Wisconsin

Default plans

Welcome to the RTA forum!