1. Default 3 week road trip for international students

Hi everyone,

I'm an international student studying in the US and next year I will have some friends from overseas visiting for 3 weeks (~ 20 to 25 days). Since most of them have never been in the US before and I haven't had to much of a chance yet to see the sights, we came up with the idea of a road trip.

There will be 6 of us, and we want to see as much as possible on our $7000 budget (about $1150 each, depending on the exchange rate). I'm studying in Baltimore, so we're planning on starting somewhere around there and I'm wondering what is the best way to go about this trip and how much can we expect to see in 3 weeks?

I have a car but it obviously won't fit the 6 of us, so here are some questions we had:

- Should we rent a second car and do a camping trip or rent an RV for 4 and take turns sleeping on the floor? Or even split it up and do 2 weeks of RV (going west) and one week of renting a car (up and down on the east coast)?

- Should we go for a one-way trip or a round trip?

- Could we make it Las Vegas and back?

- What are some things we absolutely should see?

I've been doing some research, but I've found that it is really hard to get an accurate estimate of what we can expect with our budget. We're absolutely prepared to rough it and we want the most bang for our buck, so I'm hoping that I can get some opinions from experienced road trippers to get a realistic estimate of what we can achieve in 3 weeks within our budget.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Default assuming

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

I think you might be in a rare case where an RV could be a cost effective method for you to travel, since it would keep you from having to "double up" on cars, and motel rooms. However, you really need to get one that is designed for 6 people. There just isn't room in an RV for anyone to sleep on the floor, and you'll still need places for people to sit while you are driving.