1. Default New Orleans to Grand Canyon

Hello all! My girlfriend and I wish to drive from our home in New Orleans to the Grand Canyon, and possibly Zion National Park. We have seven to eight days. Is this even realistic? Unfortunately, we cannot afford to fly out and rent a car, so driving the whole way is our only option.

I am new to long road trips with multiple destinations... the most I have done is a week in the Smokies (far less driving)

Seeing the Grand Canyon is a must for us (we have never been out west). We intend to visit the North Rim of the canyon, which would put us closer to Zion.

I realize that this trip involves a LOT of driving. We are, of course, trying to find stopping points along the way that will provide both lodging and sightseeing (i.e. Carlsbad Cavern). Here is a tentative itinerary for our trip:

Friday @ noon - Depart from NOLA
    Friday night - arrive in Houston, spend night with friends
    Saturday AM- depart Houston
    Saturday PM- arrive Carlsbad Caverns
    Sunday- enjoy Carlsbad
    Monday AM- depart Carlsbad
    Monday PM - arrive late to Grand Canyon North Rim (lodging in jacob lake, most likely)
    Tuesday-Wed - Grand Canyon
    Thursday- Zion
    Friday noon - depart zion
    Friday PM, Saturday PM -hotels, etc. on drive back
    Sunday PM - arrive New Orleans

These times are based on Google maps estimates. How accurate are these for such a trip?

Carlsbad could in theory be replaced by albuquerque, which would involve lodging only and no sightseeing.

Is this even humanly possible without several dozen cups of coffee and duct tape for our eyelids? Are we going to kill each other from being in a confined space for so long? Any input would be appreciated. If any of this is unclear, let me know :)

Thanks for reading,

Tucson, AZ

Default Not Terribly Realistic

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!