Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default First Time in South West

Hello All,
    I really need some help. I'm a novice to planning road trips, and I would like to see the South West for the first time this summer. I'm 24yrs-old and I'll be traveling with my GF. Our plan is to either fly into Las Vegas or Phoenix and end-up flying out of the city we didn't end-up flying in to. We'll have +/- 10days. Unfortunately, we won't have camping gear, so we'll have to lodge wherever we go.

Basically, I would like to hit the major sights of the south west, but I just don't know where to go besides Vegas and the Grand Canyon and which route to take.

Initally, I was thinking of flying into Phoenix, then making my way up to Sedona, to Grand Canyon. Not sure where to go after that...then maybe we could go east toward the north rim and see Zion and Bryce along the way, but don't know too much about these places and what to expect...like if we aren't camping, is there lodging nearby? and do most people spend multiple days at these places, or are they day-trip sights, or even hourly sights?

We're both in generally good shape, so we would like to do some physical activities....hiking, maybe biking, swimming (are there any rivers/waterfalls that are popular spots go).

Originally i was thinking of doing a Las vegas, Grand Canyon, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Yosemite trip instead...but i think we would like to see the country more. unless 10-12 days is enough for more.

Basically, we're really open to suggestion on how to plan our itinerary.
    Please help.

Thank you, -Anthony

Default your decisions

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

All of the options you've laid out are possible with 10 days, its really just going to depend upon your own tastes and interests. There is no one sized fits all answer for a route, nor is there a one size fits all way for how people travel or how much they fit during the time they have available.