Onerlary Guest

Default North Carolina to Palm Springs - Bridge Phobia

I am planning on renting a 10' moving van, packing it up and moving to Palm Springs sometime in August. I'm a great driver, but I have a bridge phobia - it kind of goes with my fear of heights. A bridge hanging 15' to 20' over the water is no big deal. It's the high bridges (for example the San Francisco Bay Bridge or the Golden Gate) that twist me up. Actually, they pretty much paralyze me. There is no going forward.

I've Google mapped the trip and it looks I'll take I-40 the whole way from Asheville, NC to Palm Springs, Ca through Tennessee, Arkansas, Oklahoma, the top part of Texas (through Amarillo), New Mexico, Arizona and then down into Palm Springs. Does anyone know of any bridges (or terrain for that matter), which I would have a problem with?

Thanks for your help!

Default The Muddy Mississippi at Memphis

Hello Soon-to-be-Former Neighbor-

It must be very perplexing for something like this to trouble you, as it's pretty hard to avoid bridges on a cross-country trip.

There's a pretty wide range between your specification of a 15-20' bridge being kind of OK and the Golden Gate being "no way", too, and that range is really the fly in the ointment.

Having driven from here in Raleigh to Ventura, CA in late 2007, I took much of the route you're looking at. We side-tripped through the Grand Canyon (don't go there) and went to Hoover Dam (don't go there, either) so missed a couple segments of I-40, but aside from that, my primary recollection of places you might not like are:

Sections of I-40 between Clyde, NC and Newport, TN. There's around a 15 mile segment which is fairly curvy (for an Interstate) and having a several hundred foot dropoff to the Pigeon River Gorge below (although it would require an extraordinary effort to leave the west bound lanes, cross the east bound lanes, and end up in the Gorge. In fact, I'll suggest it's impossible in a 10' moving van).