1. Default Chattanooga, TN to Steamboat Springs, CO

First time poster, new to the site. We are getting ready to take a trip from Chattanooga, TN to Steamboat Springs, TN. We are driving a 4 door Wrangler. Me, the wife, and daughters, 5 & 3 years old. Anything fun to see and/or great places to eat along the way?

It looks like this is a cool site with tons of information. I am just getting started here, so I haven't had a chance to read much. Thanks for the help!

Tucson, AZ

Default Got Time?

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

Let's see, you're looking at three days to make the drive with only minimal stops for gas, food and bathroom breaks, as well as a few chances for your girls to play a bit. That last is very important to a safe and sane trip, and will forestall the inevitable "Are we there yet?" chant. If you can add a day to the drive, then you can start taking some more leisurely, informative and enjoyable side trips. You could easily spend a day just in St. Louis riding to the top of the Arch, seeing the Museum of Westward Expansion beneath it, and going to the (free!) zoo.

Las Vegas, Nevada

Default and at Steamboat....

One of my favorite developed hot springs is just outside Steamboat -- check out this article about Strawberry Park.

SF Bay Area

Default Rocky Mountain National Park

I'd vote to make sure your route takes you through RMNP, and over Trail Ridge Road.

With luck, there'll be some wildlife for the girls (almost certainly Elk and maybe Marmots up top, possibly sheep if you're lucky, and maybe a moose on the west side if you're really lucky).

Lots of scenery too.

Estest Park (at the eastern entrance to the park) used to (probably still does) have attractions for the younger set. I remember one afternoon at a private fishing pond (you pay by the inch for all fish caught) where my 6 and 9 year-olds almost bankrupted me in the space of 30 minutes. Those fish are HUNGRY. We exchanged them for pre-packed smoked trout.