1. Default West Coast Road Trip advise for an Intl. student

Hi everyone,

I've been browsing these forums for quite a bit and have found plenty of useful information and sound advise on planning roadtrips across the west coast. Thank you guys for that.
    To begin with, I'm an international student studying on the east coast. My girlfriend will be visiting UCSD in the first week of July and I plan to join her along with her friend for a 10 day trip spanning California, Arizona and Nevada. Our plan is as under.

-- July 10 --
    Meet her friend in LA at 2130 (after arriving there myself at 8:30 PM) and try find a way to spend around 6 hours till we get to the morning Amtrak connection to San Diego. She's coming from Moscow and I believe she'll be too tired to hit the bed. But since we don't know anyone in LA, we're gonna try and spend the night near the airport or Amtrak station after checking in our luggage at the station. Right now I'm not sure if we should checki in at some hostel or a cheap lodge since we got to take the train at 7 anyway. Any tips on how to spend the night nearby will be appreciated.

-- July 11 - 14th --
    4 Days in San Diego on Ocean Beach at a hostel. Rent a car on 14th of July till 20th.
    I've checked various car rental companies and found Avis to be our best bet since I'll be having a license from my home country (India). Right now they've quoted ~ $300 from 14 - 20th morning with GPS and some liability insurance. Since I'm still 24, (<25) they're gonna ask for $100 or something as an underage fee but they also have some promotion going on right now which waives me this penalty, so I'll have to book fast. Also, technically, the LDW ain't an insurance and just a damage waiver so I intend to call them up and ask which one is ACTUALLY an insurance. In addition, I would like your help to decide which insurance to take from the rental company.

-- 15th of July --