1. Default Reno to Nashville is this itinerary too ambitious?

Hi all,

newbie here.

Hubby and I are moving to Clearwater Florida (via Nashville) in 9 days and need some input to find out if our cross country itinerary is too ambitious. Furniture is shipping separately but it costs too much money to ship the car so we have to drive it. :-(

We are not really looking forward to it but are trying to approach it with a positive attitude.

I've been reading threads in this forum for information and to help me decide the best route for our trip from Reno to Nashville. It's a great forum.

We have 6 days to get to Clearwater but want to spend two nights in Nashville visiting family if possible. We will take turns driving and with our SUV will have an area in the back to stretch out and take turns napping if needed. It's going to be a blitz trip! We will prepare a cooler with healthy food and snacks. Eating on the road, plan on starting each driving day by 6-7am and ending by 7-8pm. Hope to stop every 3 hrs or so for a stretch and bathroom break but don't want to waste too much time.

Using Mapquest 80 seems the best route from Reno through Nebraska then 29 to KS, 70 to St Louis, 64 and finally 24 to Nashville.

My question is if the following drive times are too much to realistically expect us to handle:

Reno to Rawlins WY (11 hours 22 minutes 808 miles). Book room in Rawlins that we can cancel by 6pm if we can't make it that far.

Rawlins to Kansas City (11 hours 8 minutes 781 miles). Book room in KS that can be cancelled by 6pm

KS to Nashville (8 hours 53 minutes 565 miles). Get to see my grandson!

Then after resting in Nashville (hope to stay 2 nights) we will drive the final 11 hrs of the trip from Nashville to Clearwater which is 726 miles. Split this up into 7 hrs one day and 5 hrs the next.

So what do you think? Is this too much?

Washington state coast/Olympic Peninsula

Default In a word, yes