1. Default Complete newbie, advice appreciated :)

Hi everyone, apologies in advance if I come across a bit naive but I'm totally new to this.

Myself and a friend are thinking of flying to Los Angeles (from Ireland), then making our way around Vegas and the Grand Canyon, possibly flying or getting a train to Texas, and from there heading over to New Orleans and Alabama, and just maybe flying home from Chicago.

We have about 3 weeks, would this be do-able or is it a bit optimistic?

Also, I'm the only driver and I'm a 24 year old girl, would this affect rental prices in a huge way?

Any pointers or tips would be hugely appreciated, thanks a million.

South of England.

Default A big place.

Hello and welcome to the RTA forums !

Is there a particular reason that you want to fly or get a train to Texas rather than driving ? How do you plan then to "head over" to New Orleans and Alabama or get to Chicago ? One of the best ways to see the country is by road and the fewer rentals you get the fewer one way drop off charges and flight fees you will face, and although 3 weeks can quickly pass by, it is enough time to drive across the country.
    There is obviously something that appeals to you in each of the places you have mentioned, but without knowing your interests it is difficult to make any meaningful suggestions at the moment. I would get a good map out and start looking for things that appeal to you, gather ideas from searching the forums and roadtrip planning pages and as you build a picture of your trip keep asking questions along the way.
    If it was me I would much rather stick to a road trip than sitting in airport terminals and trains and having to keep arranging different car rentals, even if it meant staying more in one area such as the beautiful Southwest, but that's me. Have a think of how you are going to get around, what you want to see, and then let us know how we can help.