1. Default Driving Pittsburgh to Seattel--need advice

Hey guys. I've never done the cross-country road trip before, but my new job will be taking me from Pittsburgh to Seattle this June. I've been looking up a lot of different routes, and am still not sure what the best way is. I'd like to go as quickly as possible to make time to set up shop in Seattle. My biggest question is whether I should try to avoid Chicago and stay south on I-80, or to go through it. Most routes take me through Chicago. Any thoughts? Also, if you guys have any cool places to stop at, that'd be nice too. Thanks!

Default Time and Aggravation

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America forums.

Personally, I've never had a problem with the drive through or around Chicago taking a ton of time. Yes, I've been caught in the odd slowdown and stop-and-go situations, but what has always bothered me more is the general level of traffic, number of lanes, multiple intersecting freeways, etc. If time is your only criterion, then I'd recommend that you just bite the bullet (tolls) and take the Tri State Tollway (I-294) around Chicago. If you can afford another couple of hours on your 5 day drive and want a more relaxing experience, then I'd suggest taking I-70 to Indianapolis, I-74 to the Quad Cities, I-80 to Omaha and I-29 to Sioux Falls. That would put you on I-90 for the rest of the trip to Seattle. As for things to see along the way besides the obvious, check out these state lists and these highway lists.

AZBuck

I just drove I-294 from its junction with I-55 and the Wisconsin border and it was bad (major road construction that's going to last for a long time). Paying almost $5 to drive that I-294 was a ripoff. Regardless of what you do, I would avoid Chicago during rush hours.

I second what AZBuck suggested: I-70/I-74/I-80/I-29/I-90.