1. Default Going coast to coast and coming back

Hey all.

So, I'm new here, and I'm also new to road trips. I'm taking a road trip in early May from New Hampshire to Seattle, and then coming back in August. I was wondering if you guys had any advice for the trip itself (destinations, good places to stop), preparing for the trip, or anything of that sort. Pretty much all the preparation I have is "GPS + Car = go." And there has to be more to it than that, right? :3

South of England.

Default To many variables.

Hello and welcome to the R.T.A. forums !

Pretty much all the preparation I have is "GPS + Car = go." And there has to be more to it than that, right? :3
    Well it's a start !

Without knowing anything of your interests and a journey that takes you across country and back, it would take pages and pages to just throw options out there ! We don't even know how long will you be on the road for.

Firstly, work out how much time you have to accomplish the road trip each way and open up a map [a paper maps a handy thing to take with you] and start to look at routes and things along them that appeal to you and compare the two and how they can fit into your route and timescale, a different route on the way out to the one coming back. When you have an outline plan then we can help you "fill in the gaps".

We normally recommend 5-6 days to cross the country, which is equivalent to 500-550 miles a day which is 9-10 hours travel time with short stops, but no major sight seeing. You will have to make sure your car is in good shape, serviced and safety checks such as tyre wear, brakes belts etc.

Have a good look around the forums, [there are thousands of threads to check out] and road trip planning pages [in the green tool bar] for ideas and as you get an idea of route, places of interest, time etc let us know and we can help piece your trip together.

3. Default

What about supposedly haunted places? Is there an easily-accessible list of those somewhere?