1. Default it's a road trip, kinda

I'm very new to this, so please bear with my naivety ;-)

A friend and I decided, a couple of weeks ago, that we would like to see some of the states this summer, only over a couple of weeks (we want to plan an extended visit next year). We dreamt up the idea of firstly, flying to Las Vegas and staying for a few days, then hiring a car and driving to Los Angeles and staying there for a few days, then driving to San Francisco and staying there for a few days, then taking an internal flight to New York and staying there for the remainder. This all sounded great and I began to price it all up. I knew it would be expensive but, probably through a lack of knowledge in terms of planning, it came out at about £2000 each, which is too much.

I was wondering if anyone could suggest a method of planning (like taking last minute flights, staying in motels etc.?) that might allow us to do something like this on the cheap.

Any advice on this trip would be greatly received; we're still very much open to suggestion with regards to the particular cities and travel directions.

Thanks in advance,

P.S. we're travelling from the uk
    Last edited by jamesey; 04-07-2009 at 12:31 AM. Reason: forgot something important

Joplin MO

If all you want to do is see those cities, I would not rent a car - use bus, train, or internal flights between the cities. The only inexpensive lodgings in the big cities will be hostels.

Next year, budget a lot more, both money and time, and rent a car for a proper tour!

South of England.

Default Keep it simple.

Hello and welcome to R.T.A.