1. Default MD to Niagara Falls (Canada)

Hi, I am a total beginner on road tripping, but have an opportunity to go somewhere for spring break with my kids. I have a few questions though...

-Do you currently need a paasport to travel thru customs or is a birth cert and id acceptable, also for minors, do they need an id if traveling with a parent or is a birth cert acceptable?

-do I need any further documentation? what about car? is insurance and registration the only thing needed?

-I am not sure if stopping along the way is better or to drive thru, if it is better to stop where should we stay? Thru google it looks as though we will pass thru NY (state), but I was thinking maybe to stop in the city just for a few hours to see the sights...

-should I book any lodging or wing it as we go? I have a gps and could easily find locations of a hotel...

-also, I am a military spouse, any discounts offered? I have a id card (dependent)

-any other suggetions?

Thank you in advance.
    Last edited by UtOh; 04-04-2009 at 04:03 AM.

Green County, Wisconsin

Default international

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

A passports will be required for Adults traveling to Canada by land starting in June, up until that time, a birth certificate AND id, will work. However, children under age 16 can cross with just a birth certificate and that will remain the case after June 30, 2009.

Most of your other questions really are simply matters of personal preference. Baltimore to the Falls is under 400 miles, so it could pretty easily be done in a day. However, in any case, I would recommend looking for a couple things you could stop at along the way to break up the trip and to give the kids a chance to get out of the car. Reservations depends upon how much flexability you like to have vs the risk of having to spend time finding a room.