Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Chicago to Portland

My girlfriend and I have been planning a trip to portland from chicago for about a month now. I have plenty of road experience and follow directions and maps well, the problem im having is deciding which way to get there. I know the common way is 80 to 84, but I really dont want to go that way, cause to me Iowa, nebraska and most of southern wyoming I find extremely boring. What I would really like to do is take the same route that I take on the train for my job. Basically taking 94 to 29 to route 2 all the way accross north dakota through montana to glacier park, then work my way back down south to 90 to 395 to 84. I really love the open road of route 2 and have always wanted to drive my car down it when I look out the window while im workin on the train, being able to stop and look at things on the way or stop and relax in a small town in montana. My main concern is this a dangerous time of the year to be driving in northern montana and north dakota. I know these places can get extremely cold and drop snow storms at a blink of an eye. So basically what im asking is this a bad idea to do this in the spring? I would rather have done this in this in the summer but this is the only time me and my girl both have off. I will be leaving chicago march 26, and we will be driving my 05 pontiac gto with low miles. Thanks for the advice and help in advance :)

It doesn't look too good right now up on 2 near the park. That doesn't mean it would be bad next week though. You will have to watch the weather carefully and modify the route and/or plan stops accordingly. If I had to go that way right now, I'd get off of 2 at 87 and go down through Great Falls to pick up 90.