Default Leaving thursday and need a suggestion about a Van.

Hi everyone. Our College hockey Team just won a bid into the National Championships in Lake Placid NY. About 15 of us are very excited to go and are trying to acquire a Small Bus from an Uncle... As this sounds fairly sketchy i am trying to find different options.

What do you all suggest?
    R.V Rental
    15 Passenger Van Rental?

I am very new to road tripping with this many people so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

We leave Thursday at high noon, and get back sometime sunday evening.

Heading from the twin cities to Lake Placid will take about 21 hours, but with 15 college kids i'm betting more like 24.

Thanks!!

--Seamus

A RV will not hold 15 people, and a 15 passenger van won't either when you consider luggage.

My best suggestion is to hire a bus and let them do the driving. By the time you pay for renting 2 vans and underage driver surcharges, the bus may be just as cheap and nobody is going to get beat to death driving around the clock.

Default use caution

Welcome to the RTA Forum! Congrats to your team as well, I'm assuming you're Gustavous students?

The biggest think you should know is that the kind of trip you are talking about involves way more driving than we'd ever recommend, and you're going to be making the trip in a very large vehicle that will not be able to safely travel as fast as a regular car. While I would strongly recommend trying to find a place to sleep for the night, at the very least, you're going to have to make sure that people are getting enough sleep to safely drive - which isn't going to be easy when you've got 15 people packed into a van. That's assuming you can find someone who will rent such a large vehicle to a group of college students.