1. Default Cross Country Road Trip NY to LA, CA

Hello all,
    My name is Gabi Ace ™ and my friend Jon and I are planning a cross country road trip from Staten Island, NY to LA, CA and I can use all the advice you would share with me.
    We are planning to leave NY somewhere around the 3rd week of March 2009 or so. Our goal is to see AMERICA in every way and shape possible. We are not pressed for time and willing to spend 30-45 days on the road if needed, maybe even 60 days. I drive a 2008 BMW X5 so it should be a good and safe ride.
    What are the most important things I should keep in mind and on the top of my list?
    I would like to stop in as many states as possible. I don’t want to just drive through them (it doesn’t count like you really been there) I would like to stop and do something or see something, may be even sleep in to really get the states’ feeling.
    I am not really good with direction (I am actually a disaster, I ALWAYS get lost. LOL), but thank g-d for navigation system that is built in my car, its great! I really can’t ever tell which way is north or south or whatever, but I bought a compass to help me around (umm?). So what I am trying to get at is that I need all the tips anyone can give and I want to say thank you in advance 
    I was thinking about going through these 16 states:
    1) New York
    2) New Jersey
    3) Delaware
    4) Maryland
    5) Virginia
    6) West Virginia (or Carolinas)
    7) Georgia
    8) Alabama
    9) Tennessee
    10) Mississippi
    11) Arkansas (Hot Springs?)
    12) Texas (Dallas, Amarillo)
    13) Oklahoma
    14) New Mexico
    15) Arizona
    16) CA (SD, SF, LA)

What are the best site scene places in these states?
    Would you say this is a good way for me to go with these states in mind, or would you recommend a different way?
    How much money would you think we would need (to eat, sleep, gas, other)?
    What ideas, recommendations, suggestions and advice would you have for us?