1. Default A rather small trip

So I'm in my second year of college and I'm really starting to get a bit stressed out. Friends are (expletive deleted) more and more each day, school work is piling up, and my job is just as boring as humanly possible. The closest thing I've had to a vacation since I was about twelve years old was a weekend long camping trip with the family every October. While I do love camping, the family aspect of it really drains some of the enjoyment out of it for me.

I live in Akron, Ohio (one of the most boring, depressing cities in the world) and am in the process of purchasing a motorcycle. I'm trying to plan a three or four day trip (probably just for myself because all of my friends are (expletive deleted)) where camping is involved, maybe some fishing, and just overall great scenery.

As I think more and more about this I get really excited. I'm aiming at taking a tent and maybe one or two changes of clothes, a fishing pole and nothing else. I'm trying to get together ideas of really great, scenic areas where I can drive to and pitch camp for a night, but I do want to stay in Ohio. I'll drive several hundred miles if I need to - I need a vacation THAT bad. I just need ideas. And cost! How much does everyone think I should take with me? I'm thinking $200 should be plenty for what I plan to do.

Any pointers or ideas?

**EDIT**
    I want to add that I'm asking this with almost no travel knowledge. The furthest I've traveled on my own is Canton, Ohio (about thirty minutes south of here) any other travel has been taken care of by my parents. So any information or ideas at all would be greatly helpful.
    Last edited by AZBuck; 02-25-2009 at 10:43 AM. Reason: Good Neighbor Policy

Default Round About Akron

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!