Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Abandonments!

Québec, Montreal, Arizona, California, France

Default Abandonments!

Hi,
    I will be relocating from Quebec City to Arizona in May for a 3-month period. Since this is a perfect opportunity to take a road trip, flying is definitely out of the question.:)

As some of you already know, I'm an amateur photographer and a sucker for abandonments. Mostly, I like to photograph them and do some research on their historical background. I'm hoping some of you can help me find some goodies to photograph along the way. I haven't planned out a route yet and I probably won't so feel free to post anything that comes into your mind and is located more or less between Quebec and Phoenix: old grain elevators, tunnels, factories, ghost towns (no tourist traps please), mines, old hospitals, schools, amusement parks, boats, old adobe houses, etc. Chances are, I'll "plan" my itinerary accordingly.

Thanks a million!
    Gen

Note: I'm already aware of the "danger levels" associated with certain cities but it doesn't bug me, so if you know of a specific location in "one of those cities", please share!:)

Gen,
    I would check out flickr.com to see where people have shot.
    I really like Troy Paiva's work.

Also check out forums for urban exploration.

I enjoy shooting old stuff too, but nothing extreme.

Recently shot at Mare Island Naval Shipyard in Vallejo, CA, really an awesome
    location.

Maybe there are decommissioned military bases on route.

Photo from Mare Island:

Default Wow! Capture of light

Wow, I really love the capture of light in that photo. Excellent, excellent work

Thanks Mark. Mare Island has some great light.

Gen, one place I've stopped at alon I-40 in AZ is the Twin Arrows Cafe.
    Not much left there.

Your thread made me break out a book about Route 66 through Arizona
    and there were a few places listed that looked interesting. I have no
    experience visiting these places.

Valentine Arizona