1. Default Chicago to Los Angeles, from a UK student.

Hi one and all,

I've been looking through this forum for a few hours now, after stumbling upon it by accident looking for a holiday for my girlfriend and I for the summer. I'd like to first thank everyone for all the advice that's been put in similar threads to this, but I'd also like to as for some advice for a total beginner in helping me plan this trip.

We are both students in the UK (at universities about 400 miles apart), which would obviously be a problem for rental, meaning for this trip to be feasible we'd have to buy a car at the start of our trip, then sell it at the end.

Basically, I'd like to do this trip in about a month, and am not totally set on the destinations I'd like to go to, although I have a basic idea of the main places I'd like to visit. So I'm basically seeking all your advice on the following:

A) Whether or not this trip is feasible.
    B) How much it would cost (excluding flights) to do this trip...This includes a lot:
    How much the car would cost (just looking for the most basic of cars, that will get us all the way accross without breaking down (too much!). And whether or not I'd be able to sell it in LA for anything like what I'd have to pay for it.
    How much the fuel would cost.
    How much spending money we'd need (for food and sightseeing)
    And any other expenses which I have yet to see.

C) The best places to visit along the way.
    D) Any other advice.

Thanks in advance for all your help,

Green County, Wisconsin

Default details

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

While you said you are students, you didn't give your exact ages, which will make a very big difference in how feasable your trip really is.