1. Default on the road from San Francisco to Vegas - nice places to stay?

Hello there!

This is my first time on the forums here so please forgive me if I'm repeating a question that has been asked before!!

Me and my sis are doing a teeny tiny roadtrip between San Francisco and Vegas at the end of November this year, and after reading a few threads on this lovely website, I'm thinking that the southern route, via the San Joaquin Valley are and then along I15 is the best bet weather wise, but what I'd really like to know is whether there are any nice towns you would recommend in the valley for an overnight stay along the way?

Green County, Wisconsin

Default are you stopping?

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

If you are just planning to drive directly between the two places, then you could pretty easily make the trip in a single day. You'd be looking at a 9-10 hour trip. Bakersfield would be about the halfway point.

If you are planning to stop anyplace along the way, then you probably will want to stop, but your stopping location will depend upon where you stop and how long you plan to spend there.

3. Default

well that's the thing you see - we'll have flown in from London and be picking a car up and getting on the way the same day, which is why I thought it might be a sensible idea to break up the journey a little, and leave the majority of the trip for the day after.

That's why I was thinking maybe somewhere before getting to the Bakersfield turnoff would be good, but every place I look up along the way seems to have horrifying statistics about pollution attached to it! So any advice about a decent place to overnight on the way would be great, altho if you think we'd be better just hammering the hell out of the road and trying to get to Barstow say, please let me know - seriously, any hints and tips very welcome!!

Thanks so much for your help!

Green County, Wisconsin

Default Stop sooner!