Default Winter Trip from FL to CO

Hi, everyone. Feel free to call me crazy, as I've gotten it many, many times in the last couple of months from this desire to travel to colder climates.

The starting point would be southwest Florida, and the endpoint would be around the Boulder area in Colorado. I've kinda left it open-ended, as long as it's close to that. No ski resorts for me, I'd probably end up in a tree somehow...

I mostly want to see if this is doable, because I've gotten such mixed responses thus far. Except for the people calling me crazy, that's kinda unanimous. I graduated last year from high school, and have heard all these stories from people (from adults looking back, not peers) about how wonderful it is to travel, to get in your car and go, and how it's really worth it (most of the time).

Of course, I've gotten this "do as I say, not as I do" response, too.

I'm not looking for anything especially fancy, because I'd be going by myself. I asked others if they were interested, but it turned out they didn't have the time. I had kinda already made up my mind that I was going to do this, though, so that didn't really kill anything for me.

I've gotten a few maps from AAA, as well as pamphlets on what there is to see and do along the way, and I would really like to try to do a road trip like this before summertime.

I have the option to just fly there if it's entirely too dangerous/impossible and, as I've heard, insane, but then I'm restricted to taxis/shuttles/buses to get me anywhere I want to go. The rental car isn't possible, due to my age (18). So, I'm determined either way, but the reliance on others does detract a little from the charm, I have to admit. Then again, if it's the marginally better approach in a case like this, I could understand that too.