1. Default Cross Country Road trip. Clueless!

hello there folks :)

I am just beginning to plan a road trip across the country. And in great need of advice. The trip will include 2 maybe 3 people. The car we'd be taking is most likely a 2004 mazda tribute. There is no time limit. We are young and want to get this in before commiting to college.

We have a rough idea of where we want to go. We'd be starting in PA, probably then towards NY, then places such as Boston, Washington DC, working our way towards Florida. Then pretty much keep heading west through Texas, Arizona till we reach California. And then make our way all the way back to PA.

Opinions of different routes would be of great help! Im open to ideas!
    We want to see as much as possible! National Parks, Cities, ect.

We thought saving 3,000 each would be enough, but now im thinking that it may not. How much would you recommend is needed?

We dont want to stay in expensive places. Motels and camping is what we were generally thinking. And then staying with friends or family we know in certain places along the way.

Does this sound completely ridiculous? or is it do-able?
    Were setting out for the adventure! The experience! Just in need of some guidance

Green County, Wisconsin

Default realism

Welcome to the RTA forum!

I think you've got a bit of work in front of you still. Really, the first thing you need to do is figure out how much time you want to spend on the road. While its nice to be able to say you've got unlimited time, the reality is that most people prefer to have a rough idea of how long they want to be gone, and how long they will be comfortable away from home. There is also the element that while a roadtrip is fun, being couped up together with 2 other people can start to take its toll on even the best of friendships after awhile.