Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Houston to Vegas ( Newbie from the UK!)

Hi,

Great site!

I live in the United Kingdon and i am planning on going to houston to visit some relatives and then driving to Vegas (then back to houston of course). Although I have driven in the USA before i have never driven this many miles! We plan on doing it in two cars (an SUV and a two seater sports car) there will be five adults including 4 drivers. I want to stop over to the see the grand canyon on the way back as well.

I will be doing the road trip between the 3rd of March to the 11th of March 2009. Any help would be most appreciated as i have never done this sort of thing before!

Zed

Default splits

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

Considering its about a 3 day one-way trip from Houston to Vegas, before you stop at the grand canyon, you don't really have that much time to work with. I'm not sure how much time you're hoping to spend in Vegas or the Grand Canyon, but there certainly are plenty of other things that you could stop at along the way. Big Bend, Carlsbad Caverns, White Sands, or the Petrified Forest are just a few of the options that would be fairly easy detours.

Is there a reason that you are taking 2 cars here? There's nothing wrong with a caravan type trip, but I'd think you'd probably be able to comfortably fit all 5 people into an SUV. That would certainly save on some expenses, plus you'd be able to much more easily split up the driving.

3. Default

Cheers for the reply buddy!

Well the reason for two cars is me kind of fulfilling my ambition to drive a long distance in an American sports car (you see I am BIG car enthusiast). The SUV would hold the passengers and mainly offer a bit of comfort for our older travellers (my ma and pa).