1. Default 8500 miles too much?

Hello...I'm a newbie to roadtripping but my friend and I are planning a coast to coast, roundtrip drive from MA down to GA and then west to CA and back along a similar route but a little bit more north (UT, OK, TN, etc).

I just plotted this out and it looks like its going to be about 8500 miles and we were planning to take 3-4 weeks all in including a few days in CA to reset. Has anyone done a similar Southern trip in the Winter? I am just looking to get some opinions if this is too ambitious or too short of a period. We will be driving a new rental car and do have some flexibility on time but not too much on $$$

Thanks so much.

2. Default More Info to Come

Sorry...I'm clearly a rookie and realize from reading plenty of other posts now that in order to get some good feedback I need to post more info about how we plan to split the days up and where we plan to stop. I am going to be finalizing that soon with my friend but in the meantime, I am just looking for general advice...8500 miles over a month.

Also, we would love to only do a one way trip and fly back from CA (flights are cheap!) but we can't find a cheap one way car option. I looked into Drive-aways and the major car rental companies but everything is at least 3X as much as a roundtrip rental and the drive-aways are few and far between.

Any advice there?

Washington state coast/Olympic Peninsula

Default Drop off charges

These charges really vary a lot so check out all the car rental agencies to see if some have a fee that you're more comfortable with.

And don't forget that if you drive the car back, your other expenses are going to go up (fuel/food/lodging). It's likely those expenses will be more than the drop-off fee. But you'll get the pleasure of seeing more of the country that way. But, then again, you will have to rush more past everything to see all these additional miles.