Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Denver to San Fransisco Sept 09

I'm new to this really cool site. I am from Ireland and planning a solo road trip. I will be flying into Denver in September and driving to San Fransisco. Places I want to see are Monument Valley, possibly Lake Powell, maybe Grand Canyon and down to part of Route 66 (say Wiliams, Kingman to Needles), then up through Death Valley and onto SF. I'll have anout 10 days for the trip. Any ideas?
    Thanks in advance

Tucson, AZ

Default Keep Moving

Céad Míle Fáilte! Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

With ten days you'll have plenty of time to get to all the places you've listed, and a few more. You just won't have time to savor any of them in great depth. Still, I think you're looking at a great RoadTrip. Besides the places you've listed some others that you may want to consider include Rocky Mountain National Park just northwest of Denver, Arches National Park, this section of old Route 66, Lake Mead instead of Lake Powell, Las Vegas, and Yosemite National Park. Add in the places you listed and you get to spend less than a day at each location. But would I do it? In a heartbeat.

Washington state coast/Olympic Peninsula

Default Me, too!

What a great trip you have planned!

But, really, there should never be a "maybe" in front of the Grand Canyon. Go. Pictures do not do it justice.

You might want to add in Bryce and/or Zion national parks, too. Well worth it!