1. Default Vegas To Aspen Via Grand Canyon & Hoover Dam

Hi Guys,
    I'm from Australia and i am planning a drive from SF to Aspen Via Vegas.

We are going to head a fair way down the coast i think before we head into vegas, but my question was about the drive from Vegas to Aspen.

We are planning to go along i15 and i70 (detour past Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam) We are a little bit worried about the road conditions, I've heard it's all double lane interstate all the way but im wondering if maybe i should fly instead as I have never driven in snow before (I have plenty of experience on gravel/sand/bush bashing/general highway driving) ?

We were planning on renting a front wheel drive (or all wheel drive) small sedan, would this be ok for the mountain roads?

Are the conditions this year worse than normal? I've heard it's bitterly cold at the moment.

Any help would be great.

Western/Central Massachusetts

Default Welcome!

Welcome to the RoadTrip America Forum!

The Interstates seldom have seriously steep sections that would be as challenging as the mountain roads which they replaced. Both I-15 and I-70 are multilane highways that are generally kept in good repair throughout all but the most difficult weather conditions. That is why it is imperative to keep abreast of the weather when traveling any road.

Driving on sand and gravel roads is different than driving on snow and ice covered roads. Ice offers close to zero traction, and after an ice storm keeping off the roads is the best way to ensure your safety. Snow isn't as difficult to drive on, but traction is still limited and visibility may be compromised, especially if the storm is still occurring.

I personally stay off the roads if they are icy, especially since I'm more likely to end up on my butt just trying to get into the car!

It is cold at the moment, but that's about par for the course in the Rocky Mountains.

South of England.

Default More than a detour.