Default Roadtrip from California to Washington D.C.

While I am not new to RVing, I am new to planning long trips. My husband and I thought it would be fun to take our 3 children and black lab on an extended RV trip from CA to Washington D.C. in our 34' motorhome (we will probably have a different opinion when it's over!). We were thinking of doing this in July. Two questions - Is a month long enough to go from CA to Washington D.C. and stop and see things along the way? Does anyone have any must sees to include in our route?

Green County, Wisconsin

Default reasonable

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

A month is a reasonable amount of time for this trip. Its enough time to do a little exploring in lots of areas, but it might be tough to really dig into any one specific place. Figure about a week to drive each direction, so you'll have about 2 weeks to divide up your time for exploring.

Its a bit impossible to answer a must see question when you are talking about a trip across the continent, plus you haven't really told us much about what you hope to see and do while you are on the road. However, this A-Z list will give you a good starting point for things to do in every state.

Thanks for the encouragement. We are looking to see anything "historical" or National Parks/Monuments. I realize that is all encompassing. We understand that we can't see it all, but as a teacher, it would add a depth to my history instruction. I went to the link you posted, and it's a great starting place.

Tucson, AZ

Default History Galore