1. Default Advice - Road Trip to Southwest (Warmth)

Hi people,

I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice. I'm thinking of ducking out of my New York City life for a month to live out of a mini-van. I am looking for warmish weather, wonderful scenery with lightish crowds where I can be alone if desired, and areas that are big and vast. I have researched and found some recommendations...Zion National Park, Bryce Canyon, Big Bend National Park, Monument Valley, and Moab Utah...can you vouge for any of these? Am I missing some gorgeous ones? Is there a route that can be recommended?

I don't want to stay in the same spot and will likely want to move around and perhaps visit some interesting towns in the area. You know of any good stops from NY down to the southwest?

I have never done anything like this before and know nothing about the area. I am just itching for an experience outside of this congested city for some lone time and will have a month free from Mid Feb to mid March and want to be comfortable outside with no more than a fleece. Thanks for your help.

Well all the places you listed are absolutely beautiful ( I haven’t been to big bend so I can't report on it). However in that time frame it may not be that warm in some places. Bryce will likely have snow on the ground, although it is magical when it does. Bryce is at high altitude so it can be chilly. Arches NP, just outside of Moab, is great and a must see. You shouldn't hit crowds that time of year which is good. I would check the National Park Service web site for more detailed info on climate. The first time I was in Monument Valley was in a very windy, chilly April. However not far from there at a nifty little place called Hoevenweep, we had snow and 70+ degree temps in the same day about an hour apart. You should be prepared for a wide range of temps as altitude can affect the weather.