1. Default Dallas to Vancouver...

Hey Everyone,
    I'm new to the froum so I have been searching past forums but thought I needed just a bit more help. I was wondering about the best route from Texas to BC based on winter road conditions. I will be travelling from Dallas to Vancouver on December 8th and have a rear wheel drive car that will be packed with a thousand pounds of my things. I've read that the safest route would not be to go through California and up to Oregon as the roads are notorious for bad winter weather. What should I be prepared for? What will the roads be like if they are good? Does good mean dry or does good mean packed, sanded snow? I do not have winter tires and my tread has been deamed good by the dealership but for dry dallas roads. I know I will have to pick up some chains but should I buy some all seasons as well? My family is pressuring me to go through California and up the west coast for what they think would be safer conditions even though it is longer. Please give me any and all advice (pretend you are my parents and give me your best advice for purchasing chains,tires,both...)
    Thanks for the help.

Green County, Wisconsin

Default Winter Basics

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

It sounds like your family has fallen into the dangerous trap/assumption that Calfornia and the west coast doesn't see bad winter weather. They also make the assumption that you could get to California without seeing poor condition. I wouldn't say that those conditions are worse than others, I just wouldn't call them better either.