Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Planning our holiday of a lifetime!

Hi - I'm new to RTA - but have been browsing the forum for a while now. I decided to join and pick your brains! Hope that's O.K.

My husband and I are retiring next year and want to see so many places in California/Arizona/Nevada! We have looked at rail trips and organised coach tours but are thinking we should go for a fly/drive as we can then go to all the places which interest us.

We would like to travel down the Big Sur coast, possibly starting in California and finishing in San Diego. Inland, we would like to go to Yosemite, (maybe other parks?) Death Valley, Las Vegas, (just for a look, really - more into scenery, but curious aabout LV) Grand Canyon, Sedona.... We are thinking we will need a month to see all these places properly, stopping at each place for maybe 3 nights? (LV maybe 2?)

So that will be 10 stops, roughly. Is there anyone who can help with an itinerary? Because of course, cost is an issue, we are thinking of stopping at B&Bs or Inns - I've done some research with the help of Trip Advisor, so think I can find some nice places to stay. Would you guys recommend half and half? Coastal area for 2 weeks and inland for 2 weeks or a different proportion maybe?

So - my questions are:-

Where to start and finish - flying into LA and out of Phoenix - would that work? Suggestions welcome for nice towns/areas to stay on our route.

Tour recommendations - Pink Jeep in the Sedona and Grand Canyon areas look good

Car hire - any tips?

I know I am rambling but it's still such early stages and we are getting a bit mind-boggled! Look forward to hearing from anyone who can help clarify a bit for us! Thanks!

Irene

P.S. We will be 63 and 66 but - touch wood - are both fit and healthy. Oh - and we are thinking of September 2009, is that a good time?

Default Pick away

Hello and welcome to the R.T.A forums.

I decided to join and pick your brains! Hope that's O.K.
    Most definitely ;-0