1. Default From Texas to the Great Tetons...need suggestions

Last year on our honeymoon we did 10 days in Maui with no planning at all. All we really did was buy one of those books on Maui and played it by ear. It turned out to be a awesome trip.

This year we have decided to do a full fledged roadtrip from our home in Dallas, Tx to Wyoming. We again will have 10 full days for this trip. We plan to do this on our Anniversary (April 12th)

Now, I was wondering if anyone here could give us a few suggestions on places to stop on the way to the Gran Tetons from Texas. I know Yellowstone is a obvious choice... I would love to spend 2-3 days in Grand Teton National park. My primary goal is photography, I am a professional photographer so anything with a nice beautiful view will keep me happy. My wife loves to do things like hiking, and other outdoor activities...she also likes to mingle with the locales :)

Default A little more time?

Hello and welcome to R.T.A.

Now, I was wondering if anyone here could give us a few suggestions on places to stop on the way to the Gran Tetons from Texas. I know Yellowstone is a obvious choice...
    Yellowstone is actually beyond the Tetons coming from the South but can be visited whilst there.

With only 10 days and a 3000 mile round trip with 3 days in the Tetons it won't give you too much spare time for side trips into other parks, but it should be a relaxed pace. We generally think that 500-550 miles a day is what you can cover and be fairly comfortable.
    A possibility would be to have a little time in Rocky N.P. on the way up as you will be close by,[2nd night] and if you add Yellowstone that will be your time pretty much taken.

If you could work another few days there is a lot to see in Colorado and New Mexico.

3. Default

I maybe able to work another day or two in :) I have never been to Colorado, so I must visit a nice area there!

Default Winging it With a Plan