Default Las Vegas to Yosemite in late January

Howdy forum,

This may be my first of many queries, so I hope you'll be patient with me. I am taking the family on 'the big trip' and one of the more complicated legs will be travelling from Las Vegas to Yosemite around the 20 Jan 09.

Some pertinent information:
    -Kids are 9 and 11 and they can generally survive a long trip in the car if they have to.
    -We only plan to have two night in Yosemite (night of arrival and night prior to departure.
    -I am a keen amateur photographer.

A couple of questions:

- what is the best route considering weather?
    - is there an interesting stop enroute if the family dont want to drive for 7 hours?
    - Am i nuts trying to drive into Yosemite that time of year?

Please excuse me if I have asked some dumb questions!

Cheers,

Claude

Default Keep the questions coming !

Hi Claude and welcome to the R.T.A forums.

- what is the best route considering weather?
    The Tioga pass [HWY 120] into Yosemite is very popular but is closed this time of year due to snow. You will need to take I-15 to Barstow, Then to Bakersfield on the 58 and then North on the 99 to Fresno and finally 41 into Yosemite.

- is there an interesting stop enroute if the family dont want to drive for 7 hours
    With time for a couple of stops and lunch e.t.c you are probably looking at a 10 hour day. A lot of people break this up with an overnight stop and use the extra time to cross Death valley, which is a fascinating place. If you were to do this Lake Isabella is a pleasant enough area for an overnight stop. If you wanted to do it in a day I would stop before Yosemite and drive in the next morning in daylight so as not to miss anything. Oakhurst would be a good spot for location to Yosemite.

Am i nuts trying to drive into Yosemite that time of year?