Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Suggestions

1. Default Suggestions

So i am new to this... But i am planning a road trip for spring/ summer. I want to go out west from michigan all the way to cali. i have made a map of directions, it has the possible route and places i want to go. I looked up fuel costs and i plan on at least 1,500$ for gas. what i need help with is..well alot of things. How long do you think a trip like this would take without rushing through? and how much spending money would a person need? and is there any senic routes to take other than highways? i am open to any and all suggestions and help.

heres the map,

Also i have a 95 saturn do you think it would work? i am open to any and all suggestions and help.
    Last edited by AZBuck; 10-09-2008 at 09:44 PM. Reason: Merged posts for same trip

Default A Classic RoadTrip

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

The trip you've laid out does an excellent job, I think, of hitting some of the best the Rockies and southwest have to offer, as well as taking a couple of 'high value' crossings of the plains. Since you've obviously researched this and have pocked a number of places that appeal to you, I won't comment too much more on it. Your fuel cost estimate is also pretty safe. With falling gas prices and a car that gets moderately good mileage, I wouldn't be surprised if you could actually do a bit better than that. For a rough guess of the time needed to make this trip, I'd say three weeks minimum, but more would be helpful. Actually, most of the time constraints will come from you and your style of travel. If all you wanted to do was to drive the miles at a sustainable pace then you could probably do this in 11 days or so. Only you can decide how much time you have available and want to spend outside the car actually enjoying the places you are going to drive all that way to see.