Default LONG RV trip with Suburban and 34' Trailer...

I have a new 08 Suburban... and a 07 Keystone VR1 34' travel trailer. I am planning a round trip Oregon to Texas trip over 2-3 weeks.

I have been a short trip trailer puller for over 10 years, but this will be my first long road trip.

Does anyone have experience that can tell me what kind of preperation I need make sure is done to my rig and trailer before we go? (I was thinking oil change for the suburban and have the bearings packed for the trailer. Anything else?)

How many is too many miles to tow in one day?

I am sure I will have more questions later...

Thank you,

Washington state coast/Olympic Peninsula

Default It should be a fun trip

I sure hope gas prices are a bit lower next summer for ya! Welcome to the Roadtrip America forums.

As I'm not a mechanic, I can't give you a lot of advice on this. Obviously, anytime you're taking off on a long roadtrip, it's a good idea to get a thorough tune-up including all fluids, hoses, tires, alignment, etc. I trust my mechanic so I just tell him what my plans are so he's aware that he needs to look ahead and consider issues that might be a concern on a long trip. Hopefully, you trust your dealer.

We generally recommend that people travel no more than 500-550 miles per day. However, that recommendation is usually for people who are NOT towing. I have had truck/camper and truck/trailer combos but I typically also only did short trips in them with LOTS of stopping to explore each day so our daily miles were fairly small. I would guess that 400 miles per day would be a more reasonable top-end when towing. Hopefully others will pop in here with more experience doing long-haul towing to give you more advice regarding that.

Keep your questions coming so we can help you plan a terrific roadtrip vacation!

Default Transmission tempratures and towing, other suggestions

Hello Beth,