1. Default Montreal to Cali and back, summer 2009

Hi. I'm a rookie roadtripper (18 year old, first trip without my parents) I figured I might need some help for my road trip. Let me just tell you the outline :

We're 4 people, planning on using 2 cars.
    I will be driving mine, which is a Dodge Grand Caravan Sport 2000 (in very good shape, though). We plan on spending 4000-5000$ dollars each on that roadtrip (I pay half the gas for my car).
    The course is roughly :
    Montreal-NYC-Miami-Louisiana(I plan on spending some time there)-Phoenix-Tijuana(should I?)-San Francisco-Minnesota-Chicago-Montréal.
    It should take 40 days.

So my questions are :
    Is it possible to sleep in a car?
    Is it safe to camp out of a camp site?
    What should I bring?
    Do you know special places/events that I should visit (how will I spend my time)?
    Does it seem possible?

And any kind of advice would be welcome, as I know you old-timers can very well make my trip a memorable one.

Nick.
    Last edited by Nicksantoro; 09-22-2008 at 09:02 PM.

Default why two

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

Why are you planning to bring 2 cars for 4 people, especially when you've got a minivan as one of your cars. While there is nothing wrong with taking two cars, and there can be some advantages, it will also double one of your biggest expenses.

Sleeping in a car is ok, if you are in a safe and legal place. I tend to think its not the most comfortable way to go, and I like getting out of a car after being inside of one all day. However, having a van will make this a bit easier.

Camping is perfectly safe, and its my prefered way to go about doing things. Personally, if you are planning to take 2 vehicles because of the ability to sleep in your cars, I'd rather spend the money on campsites.

Here is some good information on things to bring along.