Default Roadtrip may 09. Alabama to Yosemite and back

I am new here and I am totally new to the idea of roadtrips, ive talked about it for years now, but im done talking. Me and my friend are gonna travel from Mobile, al(hour from the beaches) up to Yosemite. Im looking for ideas on places to stop along the way. Grand Canyon is definitely one. I dont know all the must see places from here to there. Any suggestions? We are planning on this being 4 weeks long, and at least wanna stay in Yosemite NP for five days. We are up for anything, any route going and coming because our rental car has unlimited mileage. We are big into nature and scenery, forests, all that good stuff. Not really interested in Vegas. Thanks for any help guys and girls!
    Last edited by melonhead87; 09-17-2008 at 02:30 PM.

Default A little of everything

Well, with 4 weeks, you've got quite a bit of time to work with, and you're really dealing with a trip that encompasses the southern half of the country, so you've really got unlimited options.

I'd probably look at a bit of a loop, focusing on site in Texas, New Mexico, and Arizona going out, then spend a little time in California both along the coast and at the other national parks, and then I would work back checking out the amazing sites of Utah and Colorado. Its a real vauge outline, but I think if you look around, you should be able to come up with lots of ideas that will fit your personal interests and more than fill up your time.

Thanks, man. Depending on money, it might be 21 days, but colorado, california, arizona,utah, and wyoming are states we wanna try to stop at. Hit the main NPs, camping at grand canyon and yosemite, visiting the arches. past that, were arent sure what we wanna do with 3-4 weeks time

Default Sites to see?