Default Alaska Solo by Motorcycle

As a newbie here, I'd like to introduce myself. I am a young 52 whose house is paid off, kids almost out and gone and will soon have the freedom to wander for 1-2 months at a time before going home.

I live in northern NJ and ride a motorcycle. My goal for next summer is to ride across the mainland and head up to Alaska. Its a big trip regardless of the variables but it is doable. I have the milepost and am currently collecting information to make the trip better.

I am new to this forum but am active on many motorcycle forums. I am a member of the "iron butt association" which is dedicated to long distance riding. I haven't yet searched this forum for tidbits and advice so this post may be premature.

In any event, I welcome anything / everythng about a trip of this magnitude. I thank everyone in advance and will be glad to reciprocate when I can

Dave

Default Welcome!

Quote Originally Posted by dsgrn56 View Post
    As a newbie here, I'd like to introduce myself. I am a young 52 whose house is paid off, kids almost out and gone and will soon have the freedom to wander for 1-2 months at a time before going home.
    Welcome to the RoadTrip America Forum! That's a good gig if you can get it.

In any event, I welcome anything / everythng about a trip of this magnitude. I thank everyone in advance and will be glad to reciprocate when I can
    Anytime a long trip is planned, it is best to start with your expected budget. I imagine fuel costs will be in check with a motorcycle, but lodging, food, and sundries need to be considered. Are you going to do 1 month, 2 months?
    What have you considered for your lodging? Food? I would imagine that Alaska presents some unique challenges in finding both.

We have several members that enjoy two-wheel travel and they may be able to help you out better than I.

Default I love you Iron Butt guys!

:)