1. Default Boston to San Fransico!

hello everyone

I am planning a road trip from Boston to Sanfransico in summer 09. mid june to mid July - ( 1 month in duration). I am a keen driver but have never been on a road trip so have some questions.

I can see that in a month i cant see the whole of the states -i will be with 3 other friends but i will be doing all the driving - so i am not sure how many miles i can expect to do in 4 weeks - i dont wanna be tired fromd riving all the time and would like to be able to spend a few days in the nice places -

I just have no idea what the best route would be. I would like to see the most states and also the different ones - dont want the whole journey to be the same - i want some of those wild west places and also some diner, route 66 kinda too.

I have been using the roadtripusa website to try and plan a route - what do people think about them - maybe try and do parts of them all?

Also what are the rules about camping - would people reccomend just finding a field and camping there or actually finding a proper campsite? how much to motels cost?

Any help would be great

thanks

Jed
    Last edited by Midwest Michael; 08-18-2008 at 12:44 PM. Reason: link format

Default Pick Your Favorites

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!