Default Leaving Las Vegas

Hi All
    I am new to RTA....I found it by searching for suggestions on a somewhat unplanned trip from Las Vegas to Boston at the end of August (date tbd).

My 22 year-old daughter has decided she wants to move back to Boston after a year in Las Vegas, so I'll be flying from the bay area in CA to meet up with her, then driving her and all her stuff back to Boston.

I'm looking for a route that will be fun for both of us, yet not too time consuming (maybe 4-5 days?) and safe ("her" car is a 2001 Rav 4 which I think/hope is pretty reliable, but I don't want to push it too hard, either).

When we first moved from Boston to CA in 1996 (she was 10 years old), we arrived via Route 66 which was fun, but not something I necessarily want to do again this time around with her.

Any suggestions for a route that might take us past some cool/fun places to stop along the way (for point of reference, she would think the world's largest ball of twine, made famous by Weird Al, would be an awesome side trip :)

Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions!

Tucson, AZ

Default Five Days Minimum

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

Since it's over 2700 miles from Las Vegas to Boston by the shortest route, you'll need to both budget at least 5 days for the trip and stay pretty much on the straight and narrow. Fortunately that route has a lot to offer. You'd take I-15 north and then I-70 across the Rockies to Denver. A short jog on I-76 puts you on I-80 which follows the old Oregon Trail down the Platte River, then across Iowa and Illinois to Chicago. From there I-90 takes you all the way to Boston. While not in the "World's largest ball of string" category, there are plenty of worthwhile stops along the way.

3. Default Questions & comments...

1. Hi mom.