1. Default Chicago -> Maine or BUST!

Looking to do a road trip in late September or October from Chicago to Maine and back. I'm open to make some stops along the way and possibly come back through Canada since I've never be there.

1) My first question is what month would be best to go to Maine to see the best sights and maybe color changes in leaves in the NE? Is September good or October better?

2) Any stops along the way that are a MUST SEE?, I'm looking to make a lot of amateur postcard photos of mountain area's, scenic scenes and basically anything interesting along the way.

3) Would it be advisable to enter into Canada on the drive back, if so, what would there be to do along the route? I heard of some safari place where monkeys and other animals roam and you can drive your car through it.

4) And basically I have no knowledge of Maine and would just like to go and see what is up there, what Towns are a must to see? What is a must scenic route or destination? What is there to do up there? What is the typical weather in September or October?

Any help would be appreciated, I think this forum is great, especially since I LOVE ROAD TRIPS!

South of England.

Default Best = busiest.

Hello and welcome to the R.T.A forums.

As you can see from this foliage site the peak [best] time to visit for "leaf peepers" is historically from the beginning to mid October, however that will mean a lot of visitors in the area at that time. This has knock on affects such as congestion, a lack of available accommodation, which would mean booking in advance and possibly paying a premium for a room, so the "best" time does have it's downside.

For some good info on the area from the forums click here and you will see some good links in the 2nd post to help you.

Also you should get plenty of info from here.