1. Default From the UK!! West to East coast USA!!

Hello all,

Im a complete noob to this and thought you guys could help me out with a couple of things. I am planning to travel from LA to NY next August over about 3 weeks.

Are there any good sites I can hire a car from LA and leave in NY? or just buy a car?

How much spending money would i need? (i know this depends but ball park figures are useful!)

Is 3 weeks long enough?

Washington state coast/Olympic Peninsula

Default Welcome to America

and to the Roadtrip America forums.

Three weeks will give you time to cross the country and do some sightseeing along the way. It typically takes 5 days to travel cross-country with very limited sightseeing. So, in effect, the extra 2 weeks gives you plenty of time to meander and explore along the way.

There are obstacles to buying a car that make this a bad option for such a short trip. For the best deal on car rentals, you just really need to shop around. Visit the various websites for the major car rental agencies and compare. You might use one of the tools on the various travel websites that compare prices. Sometimes even using a different pick-up/drop-off location will make a difference. Be advised that there will be a one-way drop-off fee with all agencies.

This post will give you some tips on how to calculate your budget needs. Why don't you work through the suggestions and come back here with your results? We can then give you feedback.

You might also benefit from some of the information on our International Visitors page.

What route do you plan on taking?

Default Enterprise is the cheapest