Thread: DC to San Diego

Default DC to San Diego

I recently took the trip from DC to San Diego. I'm a comic book editor and I was heading out to SD because my most recent book was nominated for a pretty prestigious award. I decided to make a trek out of it and posted my dispatches on DCist, a local website. My five pieces from the trip can be read here and pictures from my excursion can be seen here. Here is Jason's trip planning threads.

It was a great time. I had overnights in Knoxville, Memphis area (two nights), Norman, Santa Fe, Albuquerque-area, Flagstaff, Yuma, and then four nights in San Diego. I made additional stops in Roanoke, Bristol, Nashville, Little Rock, Amarillo, and the Grand Canyon.

I'd have to say my favorite sites were the Canyon, Petrified Forest/Painted Desert, Cadillac Ranch, Stax Museum, the Parthenon (especially since I saw the real one in Rome last year), and the meteor crater. I was also fond of a Popeye statue I found in Alma, Arkansas.

When I first started planning out this trip some of the folks on this site helped me out with my route so I'm grateful for that. Hope you dig the dispatches and pictures, and I'm including some road trip-inspired drawing some fellow comic creators made for me...

My friend from DC, Scott White, upon hearing of my plans:

Nashville artist Dean Trippe after I visited him:

Memphis artist Chris Haley after he kicked my butt in karaoke (he swears the ghost of Freddie Mercury helped him):

Santa Fe artist Monica Meehan after watching me sweat while choking down a plate of Carne Adovada:
    Last edited by Mark Sedenquist; 07-29-2008 at 09:17 PM. Reason: Preferred URL format herein

Default You must have attended ComicCon?

Some of our clients were attending that event. Thanks for the drawings (above) and for your field report.

Mark

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Sedenquist View Post
    Some of our clients were attending that event. Thanks for the drawings (above) and for your field report.

Mark