1. Default Cars, trains and On the Road

I am an English Student studying in London. For a while now it has been an ambition to travel across America after Uni. Unfortunately for me, I read On The Road by Jack Kerouac, and have subsequently become obsessed with the idea! One chapter starts with Sal and Dean managing to get a car that a person needed driving to Chicago from San Fran for them, as they needed to get to Chicago quickly, and had to fly back. Is it still possible to do this? are there companies in major cities that do this?
    Another question, is it still possible to jump on freight trains as a form of free transport?
    Thanks, and many regards

Green County, Wisconsin

Default your own

Welcome to the RTA forum!

As much fun as a book can make a trip sound, If you want to travel across the US, I would encourage you to build your own plan on not try to recreate something you have read. There's nothing wrong with books, but what makes a roadtrip great is having your own experience. I think trying to have "someone elses" experience would detract from that - as you'd be so focused on looking for specifics to recreate, you can easily miss the new, unique experiences that would make the trip your own.

Having said that, I'm not sure exactly what you are looking for with your questions. You can certainly rent a car from Chicago to San Francisco and Fly back, although it might not be cheap - especially if you are under age 25.

Jumping on freight trains is not a safe way to travel. Its illegal and dangerous.

3. Default

Perhaps I was unclear, I was definatley planning my own trip, it was just that On The Road Is an inspiration for my ambition. I have no doubt that I want to have my own experiences and adventures.

My real question was whether there are companies which arrange for a persons car being driven back to their own abode. For example: