1. Default Newbie needs NY to FL help

Hello, newbie here. :)

I am driving my son and I to Disney the very last week of August. We are leaving from Rockland County, NY. I am a little nervous since it will be only me driving, but I am sure I can hack it.

Here is my plan:

Get out of the house at 6am and drive until dinner-time-ish. This of course depends on how tired I get, but I am hoping to make it to Savannah. Is this unrealistic? It would be ideal since the next day I would only have a 4-5 hour drive. I really want to make day two as short as possible.

Also the more I google the more I see people complaining about I-95. It would be very easy to stay on one road most of the trip. We are leaving on a Saturday, and if I leave early enough I should get through the DC area unscathed, yes? Is there a time I should leave that would be more helpful?

Any ideas/tips/suggestions/advice more than welcome. Thanks so much!

Tucson, AZ

Default Totally

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

Nyak to Savannah is over 830 miles. It is totally unrealistic to make that in one day. You might be able to make 600 miles (Fayetteville, NC), but even that would be pushing it. It would leave you almost no time out of the car other than for fuel, restroom and meal breaks. As you're finding out, you're going to be travelling through some of the most congested regions in the country. To have any reasonable chance of being south of Washington before traffic really starts to pick up, you'd have to leave home at about 1:30 AM and not stop until you were well into Virginia. Sorry to rain on your parade, but you need to realize what it is you're going to be undertaking, and at best this drive is going to take you two full working days.

3. Default