1. Default NYC to Yellowstone eventually

I am just starting to plan a trip for this August. We can leave August 2 but must be back by August 25th. I have no experience; the longest road trip I have taken with them was NYC to Dayton, OH. I will be traveling with my 3 kids in our Toyota Sienna. We are thinking of camping/hoteling along the way. We have a tent big enough for all, and sleeping bags for each.
    Of course we do not have endless funds and I have read the advice about getting a small propane cooker. Is that safe to travel long distance with?
    The only research we have done or planning is that we have gone to AAA, gotten maps and books for planning the way. And have been reading lots of things on this site.
    We are thinking of heading up to Niagara Falls for our first stop. Then heading out thru Detroit and Chicago area to get to our next destination, Mt. Rushmore. After that we are hoping to get to Yellowstone. Then we would like to head down to Bryce Canyon/Zion Nat'l Park and the Grand Canyon. From there we will head back toward NY We would like to stop in Tennessee near the Chattanooga area. Work our way up the Great Smokey Mountain Nat'l Pk and then home.
    My husband believes this is totally unrealistic and wishes we would just go to Hershey Park and come home. My kids are 14, 12 and 9. I figure I don't have much time left where they will do something like this. When my daughter was 12 she got to go to N Korea to visit Uncle. My now 12 year old was supposed to visit same Uncle in China but the trip was cancelled. I thought I could take him for that "trip of a lifetime" right here in the Good ol' US of A.
    Can you give me some advice, am I being realistic?
    We are hoping to be very flexible and do the best we can.
    We appreciate any information, direction, advice you can give us. Thanks.

Green County, Wisconsin

Default striking a balance

Welcome to the RTA Forum!